Not Your Child’s Crappy Christmas Crafts

I’m a perfectionist when it comes to crafting. Yesterday, I spent 5 hours on a homemade gingerbread house, complete with a bay window breakfast nook, see-through butterscotch windowpanes, and a flickering light inside. I got frustrated at all the tiny details I couldn’t perfect. Maybe I have stubby, clumsy fingers. Anyway, I threw it all in the trash.

These three ornaments don’t require much effort. I also didn’t need to buy any materials because my house is basically a craft studio in disguise.

For the terrarium ornament, I started with a layer of small rocks. Then, I stuffed a small wad of craft moss inside the opening. Lastly, I positioned a miniature flocked Christmas tree inside. If you’re wondering whether clear ornaments are made of glass or plastic, it’s glass. The answer is glass.

For the marbled ornament, I squirted white acrylic paint inside and tilted the ball around until the glass was completely coated. I let the ornament sit upside down in a cup overnight to drain the excess paint. The paint was still wet in the morning, but who cares? Not me.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

To create a marbled effect, I filled a shallow dish with lukewarm water. Then I drizzled OPI Black Onyx nail polish into the water and I swirled it around with a toothpick. Working quickly before the nail polish solidified, I dipped the ornament into the dish. It took a few tries to achieve the optimal marbled look. Thank you nail polish remover.

For the glitter ornament, I simply filled the glass with a ton of Recollections Signature Extra- Fine Glitter in the color “Blaze”. You can’t tell from the picture, but it’s a red-orange glitter with rainbow duochrome specks. Static cling will automatically coat the ornament with a sheer layer of glitter. I dumped the excess glitter back into its container.

Since the marbled ornament is obviously my favorite and deserves special treatment, I used a gold chain to hang it up on the tree. For the terrarium, I used baker’s twine, because it’s whimsical as heck. For the glitter ball, which is definitely the lamest ornament of the three, I used a boring white ribbon.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Here is my sad attempt at awkwardly displaying the ornaments at the forefront of my tree. These would make great gift toppers, but I think I’m going to keep them.

Tell me what you think!

